Reviews

Ezio Reynaud

USA
21 Apr, 2017

Mountain Monarch is a highly rated guide company operating in Nepal. I recently enlisted their help in trekking around Mt. Everest and I fully agree with all of the great reviews this company gets. My scheduled trek, however, was changed by a fall while descending a high pass which resulted in a broken fibula. This is where Mountain Monarch went above and beyond all expectations. >From the very able guide, Netra, to the ever calming and gentlemanly disposition of the owner, Mr. Pradip, they organized a very efficient air rescue and a worry-free transport to a highly capable travelers’ clinic in Kathmandu. Supervised mostly by Mr. Pradip himself, every little detail was handled with reassurance and comfort. It is said that it’s in a time of crisis that the very best comes out in people……Mr. Pradip and his staff shone in these moments. I’m very much looking forward to joining them again in the future and highly recommend Mountain Monarch Adventures to everyone.

Florence Luy and Pascal Bonvin

Switzerland
07 Dec, 2016

A perfect trekking
“Three passes and peaks trekking – 18 days” is a fantastic trekking, unforgettable, thanks to the perfect organisation of Mountain Monarch. Our guide, Mingma Chiri sherpa, was competent, kind, understanding. The idea of one trekker-one porter is fair and greatly appreciated. The material we did borrow from Monarch was top quality. Our special thanks go to the managing director Pradip, who followed closely our trip from the beginning to the end.

Rick Thomas

Canada
03 Dec, 2016

Text can’t entirely describe my experience on the Manaslu trek because it’s how i felt on the inside that made it feel so worthwhile as each day passed. It was awesome and so different from the other 2 treks i have taken with Mountain Monarch, which was in the Everest region in 2010 and 2014 and which i both loved as well. What i really loved about this trek was the fact that there was less people on this circuit compared to the Everest region. Most of the trekking days were spent by the beautiful river where the sound of raging rapids filled the air. The sound of water while going to sleep was calming.

Larkye pass was a long and tough day but a rewarding one. 5106 meters and every breath means something as you push on and reach that final flag. And a big highlight for me personally happened one night around 3am when i went outside and for a minute just stared at the magnificence of Mt Manaslu before me bathed in white alongside the night sky awash with all of the major stars of our universe. At that moment all i thought was just maybe i was the only one on earth looking at it during that very moment in time. Felt great.

As for the staff, Netra our main guide was so knowledgeable and great to talk to. Pimba our assistant guide did an impeccable job as well. Our porters, all young guys were a joy to be with. Me and my fellow trekkers were more than happy with the complete service provided. If i go back to Nepal ( which i am sure i will) Mountain Monarch will be my first choice again. 🙂

francois

03 Dec, 2016

Excellent organisation.
Custom trek around manaslu and annapurna in 17 days with our guide Yam.

Kenny Robertson

Melbourne, Australia
30 Nov, 2016

Nov 2016 – Excellent experience – doing the combined Everest Base camp and Island Peak trek.
The Island Peak part is especially strenuous however the acclimitisation treks leading up to IP are well designed to help prepare you for the hard slog to the top. The support Sherpas and porters are all first class with lots of experience. Enjoyed meeting up will all my fellow companions from all over the world.

Klavs Würgler Hansen

Danmark
14 Nov, 2016

I participated in a “Mountain Monarch” peak climbing tour to Mera Peak Oct/Nov 2016. It was truly a journey of a lifetime. The trekking was very professional and well organized. There was a high level of focus on safety with an itenary that minimized the risk of high altitude sickness. The group – with Ngima Sarki Sherpa as an excellent leader – was competent, very friendly and helpful. The kitchen staff produced tasty and hygienic prepared food even under difficult conditions. On the summit day, no less than three climbing guides allowed that the 8 clients could be split in three separate groups according to individual physical capacity. This contributed to the fact that the summit success rate was a 100 %. I had a wonderful trip to Mera Peak with the most astonishing views of the beautiful surrounding mountains. I can highly recommend “Mountain Monarch” as a trekking tour operator.
Klavs Würgler Hansen, Enebaervej 68, 8600 Silkeborg, Denmark

Martin

Canmore Alberta Canada
14 Nov, 2016

I just want to say thanks to all the folks who made my trip one of the best I have ever had in my life.
I did the Everest Base Camp and climbed Island Peak with Monarch and can only say they made the trip fantastic. I was met at the airport and all the details were taken care off.

The guides were great! ans above all else they were safe. I will be booking anothe rtrip with them next October.

Thanks to the folks at Monarch!

Matt, Nathan and Ray Merlano

Brisbane, Australia
14 Nov, 2016

Our sincere thanks to Mountain Monarch and our wonderful team who ensured us a trip of a lifetime. From Prakash our excellent mountain guide, Arjun our super climbing guide, Shambhu our young assistant, Mila our cook with his kitchen team and all the porters and helpers – a great team!

We chose MM for our Mera Peak ascent (Sept 2016) because of their professionalism, value for money and because they are a local based company in Kathmandu. We were so impressed by the friendliness, knowledge and attention to detail that shows across this company from the Managing Director thru to the porters.

The MM team showed great care and motivation with our endeavor to reach the summit of Mera (6476m). Without their help and guidance it is clear that we would not have made it! Plenty of time was allocated for acclimatization and the trek and climb was well organized. Whilst trekking we stayed in some teahouses, which were of a decent standard and were clean and comfortable. We also utilized tents that the MM team was excellent in assistance with quick and efficient setting up and breaking camp even in the wettest and snowiest weather! Food was good and there was always plenty of it.

Prakash, our mountain guide, an excellent leader, looked after our daily needs and ensured that our trekking was hassle free. Our climbing guide Arjun is a great character with extensive experience. They ensured that our climb went without incident and it was a real pleasure to spend time with them (we now consider these guys our mates!). Our MM crew were fantastic and looked after us well which resulted in the time that we spent in Nepal being thoroughly enjoyed.

We found Mountain Monarch to be a leading company offering SAFE & RESPONSIBLE trekking throughout the Himalayas. Many of the big ticket trekking equipment items are catered for with this company at NO extra cost. This included the down jacket, sleeping bag & liner, crampons, gaiters, trekking poles, icepicks, helmets, harnesses and some great additional training!

We are proud of our decision to trek with Mountain Monarchs and glad we made new friends among the team, our trekking group and the locals. We are looking forward to our next trip to Nepal, which will definitely be with Mountain Monarch!

Dhanyavad from the Merlano family!

Vasu & Cecile

Base, Switzerland
26 Oct, 2016

We would like to thank Mountain Monarch Team for organizing a memorable Annapurna circuit trek for us (Sep – Oct, 2016). We did a fair bit of research before deciding on the trek and booking with Mountain Monarch and we are very happy with our choice!

At the outset, their website was very helpful and provided good information on various treks. Subsequently, Mr. Pradip was quick to respond to our queries on email and phone, and these discussions helped us plan well for the trip, sitting far away from Nepal!

Once in Nepal, we met our guide Arjun and our porters, and pretty much relied on them for the next few weeks during our hike. What we liked the most about Arjun and other Mountain Monarch guides we met en route was the professionalism, knowledge (of local conditions + medical), and friendliness. Arjun was well equipped with a good medical kit and knowledge of what conditions to look for in customers. Arjun was also extremely thorough in his daily briefings and flexible to adapt to our constraints and interests.

We could also see Arjun and other guides constantly communicate on trail conditions, and update each other. We felt safe with that kind of meticulous planning. We were also impressed with the policy of “One porter for one customer”, and we could see our porters were taken better care of by their management than that of porters from other companies.
As we did a teahouse trek, we were reliant on Mountain Monarch for having a good local network to get us the better teahouse for stay or lunches, at the villages where it got crowded, and they did indeed met or exceed our expectations.

As a result, we had very less to worry in terms of logistics, trail difficulty etc. and could just free our mind to enjoy a beautiful trekking experience, and the spectacular views.
Staring from 800 m to crossing the Thorong La pass at 5,400 m, and climbing down to Muktinath at 3,800 m, while enjoying great views of Annapurna ranges, and diverse landscape each day, was an experience we will never forget in our life time. If we go back to Nepal for another adventure I the future, it would be with Mountain Monarch!

Tricia and Caroline Shakespeare

United Kingdom
25 Oct, 2016

Thank you and all the team for our wonderful trip to Nepal and the Annapurna Panorama trek. It has been one of the most enjoyable and extraordinary trips I’ve ever experienced. From the moment we stepped out of the airport to the moment we left Nepal, Yam was such a considerate guide and the organization was faultless. There was nothing for us to feel concerned about; we were just free to walk and open our eyes and our hearts to Nepal.

We wish Mountain Monarch every success in the future.

Page 1 of 1312345...10...Last »