Reviews

Two Thumbs way up!!!

Zoe Bazley  |  Australia
30 Jan, 2020

A huge thanks to Pradip and the Mountain Monarch Team for getting us to the top of Island Peak. Great team, fantastic service, thoroughly enjoyed the entire trip!

Look no further – best value for your dollar !

Sharon Mikel  |  Truckee, CA
30 Jan, 2020

Our group of 11, aged 55 – 74, hired Mountain Monarch Company to guide us to Everest Base Camp and to summit Kala’patthar, on their standard EBC trek. It was evident from the beginning we made the best choice. Communication pre-trip with Pradip, was easy and no question was a problem for them. Everything stated in the Itinerary happened: meeting us at the airport, taking us on a tour of Kathmandu, organizing flights to and from Lukla, porters, accommodations, etc. The most noteworthy thing I have to mention is their concern for our safety and satisfaction, on every level. Our guides, CP, Santhos and Sanu became family during our trek. One of our members “left it all out on the mountains”, and needed to be evacuated. Mountain Monarchs organized the helicopter, picked us up at the airport, took us to the international hospital, where we received the best care and stayed with us until we could leave. Thank you Ram for your great care. It was seamless and not a problem for the Mountain Monarch team. Mountain Monarchs has the best price for this trek and I would highly recommend using them for your “trip of a lifetime”. Do it sooner, rather than later !!

AMA dablam 2018

David Jimenez  |  Australia
26 Nov, 2019

Climb ama dablam with mountain monarch and a team of amazing people around the world.
The expedition was very well organised with the confidence of a strong and knowledgeable professionals. Very well money spent that I will never regret. 100 percent recommend mountain monarch. When I first booked with mountain monarch I had my doubts, but after the experience I will probably do another expedition with them.

Everest Base Camp Heli Trek — Everthing we had hoped for!

James Davidson
26 Nov, 2019

Nov 4, 2019 through Nov 14, 2019
My son and I just returned from the Everest Base Camp Heli Trek, and we have nothing but glowing praise for Mountain Monarch and the team that led and supported us. Before the trek, Pradip quickly and clearly responded to our questions and gave solid advice. For example, when I informed him of the flight that we were planning, he told me that the Kathmandu airport was going to be closed at our scheduled arrival time. A Google search confirmed the closure. I don’t understand how a major airline could have a flight scheduled during a planned airport closure, but I’m very glad that Pradip caught it. He advised us well on other items as well.

The hotel in Kathmandu before and after the trek was very western and served a wide variety of western and other dishes. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Every aspect of the trek itself was exactly as advertised. Our main guide, Dawa, and his assistant, Bhatan (may be misspelled) were extremely attentive to our needs. They monitored us closely for any signs of altitude sickness, ensured that we carried enough filtered water and that we were actually drinking it, helped us to choose safe menu items at meals, and explained very clearly what to expect regarding the next day’s trek, An added bonus was listening to them talk about their own lives in Nepal. I have to laud the porters as well. While we carried just light packs containing what we needed for the day, they carried our large duffel bags, which were always awaiting us in our rooms at the end-of-day tea house. Whenever we saw the porters they were pleasantly smiling and offering us encouragement.

Frankly, I had been a little nervous about the helicopter, knowing what complex pieces of machinery they are, but the helicopter that picked us up looked new, was clean, appeared to be well maintained, and was professionally piloted. It was a very pleasant flight that gave us very nice views of the mountains and countryside.

Hats off to Mountain Monarch! If I am fortunate enough to return to Nepal, I won’t even bother researching other companies.

Kathmandu to Pokhara Trip

Craig Powell  |  United Kingdom
17 Jul, 2019

We did the Kathmandu to Pokhara trip with MM last month and really couldn’t recommend them more. 

The guides were incredibly friendly and knowledgeable and the whole operation was very well organised and enjoyable. Our lead guide Ram was one of the friendliest (not to mention happiest) men I think I’ve ever met, who looked after our every need during the trip. 

The owner Pradip took us out for our last day of the tour around Kathmandu and also proved to be an excellent guide and really went the extra mile to look after us, even after our trip was technically at an end. 

I’m hoping to do the EBC trail in a few years and I’ll be booking with these guys again for sure.

 Highly recommended.

Kestin Lungdren

11 Mar, 2019

We had an absolutely wonderful day hiking from Nagarkot to Changu Narayan! It was precisely what we had hoped for: nice views, villages and some forest. The guide was very knowledgeable and spoke good English. He was also fun to talk to. The car was good and the driver excellent, which made us feel safe.

Thank you very much for arranging this, especially on such short notice.

Nelson To

Canada
23 Dec, 2018

Detailed, safe and successful ascent of Ama Dablam 2018

We were on the first expedition to Ama Dablam that Mountain Monarch organized themselves. The company was extremely open and forthright about that fact, and provided plenty of support to ensure a safe and successful summit. They provided all the technical gear except for double boots. This included the harness, helmet, ascender, carabiners, accessory cords, ice axe, sleeping bag, and much more if you need. The acclimatization plan was very thorough and had been explained to us right at the beginning. Before we left Kathmandu, the climbing guides reviewed our gear to make sure we were well equipped for the climb.

Outside of gear, we had plenty of guides to help us along the way. By the time we were ready to summit, we had more than one guide per person. The luxury of this arrangement is that we had individual checks of our safety lines and to give us immediate support if we needed.

The itinerary had built in a lot of acclimatization before reaching Ama Dablam. We trekked through Renjo pass, Chola pass, and climbed Lobuche East (6119 m) as a way to refresh our technical skills. For those who are not familiar with using a jumar/ascender, we spent a rest day reviewing gear and training on a large boulder. We were all very comfortable with elevation by the time we reached Ama Dablam basecamp. On top of that, the climbing schedule for Ama Dablam is extremely thorough. If you are worried about rushing up the mountain, there is absolutely no reason to be. On the contrary, we ended up spending a lot of time exposed to the elements as a result, so it’s important to stay warm and healthy.

In general, the plan had a week of contingency in case of bad weather. During this trek, we were hit with a spell of high winds during our summit window. Mountain Monarch gave us the option to descend to Pengboche to wait for the weather to clear. This was an extra cost to them that was not passed down to us!

At basecamp, we were equipped with a group dining tent, personal sleeping tents (with a down exped mattress), outhouse, and an altar for the puja ceremony. Having our own personal tent to rest in was a comfort I never expected to have. Another luxury was the charging station that would kick on every night during dinner service. We had about 3 hours to charge our phones and battery packs in the dining tent. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was provided and served with a smile. When we returned from our successful summit, they even made us a cake to celebrate!

Overall, I felt a lot of attention was given to us to ensure our safety and comfort. The plan was thorough and well executed by all of the guides and sirdar. We even had a helicopter take us back to Lukla in order to catch a flight out to Kathmandu on the same day! All 4 of us who left the the base camp for the summit bid climbed the Amadablam peak together – great achievement. I’m very happy I picked Mountain Monarch to go up Ama Dablam.

Chin Ling Wong

Malaysia
23 Dec, 2018

4 weeks trip with 23 days of trek and climb from Lukla to Mera (6419) and Island Peak (6189m) via Amphu Laptsa Pass (5845m). Amphu Laptsa Pass is graded ‘D’ and is the second hardest pass in the Himalaya region. It was an amazing experience to land and take off on the world most dangerous airport. The feeling is indescribable until you experience it. 

12 of us in the group plus 5 guides, 12 porters and 7 kitchen crew throughout the hike. We stayed in tent for 20 days and the last three days in the local tea houses. One of the highlights of our trip is no shower for 23 days and the toilets are very basics. The higher the altitude, the more basic the toilet will be. We were amazed that we survived without any problem 🙂 

The weather is extremely cold and the daily temperature is below zero degree Celsius. Waking up daily with snow/ice on the tent, sleeping bag and beanie is no joke. Hail and snow is common during our hiking period. 

23 days without connecting to the outside world is another good experience for us as well. No electricity available and I charged my watch and camera with solar charger. 

Thank you Mountain Monarch and the team for this memorable trip.

Nick Earnshaw

Nick Earnshaw

11 Fernhill Avenue, Stacksteads, England
14 Dec, 2018

Absolutely fantastic trip to the summit of Mera Central. All credit to the handsome Nima and his brilliant team of guides, cooks and porters. Support from arrival to departure was superb. Highly recommended and hope to visit and climb again.

Fred Chan

Fred Chan

Sudbury, MA, USA
30 Nov, 2018

As always, MMA delivered on a great trek. If you are viewing this review, there is no need to heap further accolades on MMA. They are one of the best guide services and their one porter;one trekker policy is highly commendable.

The Everest Circuit trek is a highly recommended alternative to the traditional EBC trek, if you have the few extra days. You get to go up the less crowded Gokyo valley and return on the more crowded EBC route (in just two days). Going up gives you tremendous views of Cho Oyo and the 180 panorama of Cho Oyo/Everest/Lhotse/Makalu from the top of Gokyo Ri. Crossing Cho La pass can be work but is an incredible experience crossing the pass and glacier. The balance of the trip is the classic EBC route. If you have the few extra days, this trek is well worth it!

Lakpa, our guide, took great care of us and was a great guide. He seemed to know every other person we passed on the trek! Another trip of a lifetime with MMA!