Showing 225 reviews
  • L
    Leo Le Stum Boivin 5.0CanadaPublished June 07, 2022logo

    Life changing experience!

    This trip was a life changing experience. Mountain Monarch was perfect from the pickup at the airportto the drop off at the end of the trip. The owner Pradip was an excellent host at every level, from gratingme at my arrival, to answering all my questions before, during and after the trip. The guides and theporters during the trek were also amazing, I felt secured during all technical part of the climbing. Ngimaand his brother were great guide and was able to teach us a lot about Sherpa's culture since there areboth from the region. I did Mera, Amphu Lapcha Pass and Island Peak during this trek. The route forthose peaks was well design by Mountain Monarch, so much that we didn't feel any altitude sickness. Ihighly recommend this local company for any trek in Nepal. Thank you again for this amazingexperience. Leo.

  • R
    Ryan Mohr 5.0United StatesPublished June 05, 2022logo

    EBC Trek and Island Peak - April and May 2022

    Wow, where to start! We had such an amazing adventure and Mountain Monarch did amazing in making it all happen. We trekked to Everest Base Camp and paired with Island Peak Climbing. I climbed Island Peak while my wife stayed at Island Peak base camp. Mountain Monarch was such a great company to work with, and we felt completely taken care of the whole way. As promised, they were there patiently waiting at the airport when we arrived in Kathmandu and took us straight to the hotel, which was great and comfortable! We had a half day tour of Kathmandu and our tour guide Ram was amazing and super knowledgeable. Our flight to Lukla to start the trip was smooth and they helped make everything easy. Along the trek, all of the accommodations were set up for us, and we didn't have to do a thing! The accommodations along the way were great. Our guide Netra provided so much peace of mind in keeping us healthy along the way and watching out for our health and wellbeing (like carrying oxygen the whole way)...such a wealth of knowledge around everything from first aid, knowledge of the region, etc, we felt lucky to have him. The assistant guides were also fantastic, we loved Santosh and LB as they took such great care of us. Our Porters were also fantastic, friendly and timely. They always were one step ahead and getting our gear to the next stop. At Island Peak, the camping setup was plush and the food was awesome. The climb was super cool and my climbing guide was right there alongside me the whole time. All in all, it was an amazing experience and Mountain Monarch delivered on everything they said. We felt so good about everything, especially compared to some other trekking companies we came across which just didn't seem as put together. I would absolutely recommend Mountain Monarch to anybody and I would absolutely use them again for future trips to Nepal!!! 5 Stars all around!

  • William E Dingman
    William E Dingman 5.0United StatesPublished May 23, 2022logo

    Everest Base camp, Circuit Trek

    Look no further for a trekking company to take you to Everest Base Camp or anywhere in the region!Mountain Monarch Adventure Co., is a One trekker one porter company which means their porters carry one duffel bag not two. This company cares about their employees well being. I was emailing the company numerous times months out Prior to my trek with questions and Pradip the owner would always promptly respond. We were met by him when we arrived at our hotel in Kathmandu even though it was late after 830pm, later than expected. We were taken on a cultural tour the next day that was very enlightening. Rom, our guide was very nice and informative. My trekking guide, Roshan was always helpful, polite and professional. This man encouraged me to eat after I got sick and lost my appetite for much of the trip. Every day he would tell me to eat more. He learned to use my Nikon camera and took photos of everything. He would give us information about the region as he was born and grew up in Lukla. On the way back down after EBC and the Gokyo lakes, when we had to go uphill he carried by backpack, along with his as I was becoming more sick from what I later found out to be from Covid. Also, he was the one waiting for me outside the Kathmandu airport for over 2 hours as my flight was delayed and I had to get my visa inside and wait for my checked bag. After our trek and back in Kathmandu, He drove me to the Qatar airways building to reschedule my flight. He bought medicine for me, checked on me and encouraged me when I was tired. I could on and on.He became a friend and we still communicate on Facebook.Look no further, this IS the ONLY trekking company to consider!"

  • paul cownley
    paul cownley 5.0United KingdomPublished March 27, 2022logo

    WOW, WOW, WOW !! best ever !

    Mountain Monarch was recommended to me by a friend and I am so glad we used them! Pradip was very helpful on the run-up answering all our questions and ensuring it was all straightforward. The route we did was quiet which is what we wanted and at the remoter tea houses we stayed in we were often on our own, our guides CP and Yam made the trip extra special giving us information as we went along and generally talking to us about what we were seeing and then when we arrived at our overnight stop they would do everything to ensure we were happy comfortable well-fed and watered. The whole experience was unbelievable with great views that were well worth an early start see. From when we arrived at Kathmandu airport and were greeted by CP till when Pradip said goodbye as we left we couldn't have felt more part of the Mountain Monarch family and can't recommend them and the team highly enough, we will be using them again!

  • M
    Michael Daley 5.0United StatesPublished June 20, 2021TripAdvisor

    Father and Son Adventure

    My son and I had been wanting to do this trip for the last few years. We had it planned for 2020 but COVID canceled that. It was a close call on making it for 2021 but our dream came true. Pradip was able to transfer our 2020 $ to 2021. He is a professional in every way and one of the nicest people you’ll meet. We still had restrictions with COVID but MMA put our safety first. We saw more than normal in Kathmandu and learned a lot and I mean a lot. Since we passed the COVID test we started our trek early my son and I said we’d weather spend more time in the Himalayas than in Kathmandu so Pradip and CP our guide suggested we add some extra days and add two more summits and Chola Pass to the trek. CP is an excellent guide, also one of the nicest people you’ll meet. He educated us on the people, food, culture, mountains, and the way of life up until high. We all really got to know each other very well. CP even taught us how to play Nepalese rummy to pass the time in the tea houses and we taught him double solitaire. He got to know our abilities and even gave us a challenge on the Trick Trail which we enjoyed. He was always concerned with our COVID safety when we were in villages and provided masks for us. He never presses us, he always stressed to be patient and go slow (Bestari Bestari). He made us feel very confident and strong with his compliments and kindness. He became a very good friend on the trail, it was as if we’d known him for a long time. CP is also very funny and entertaining, a very happy man that enjoys helping people understand his culture and the beauty of the Himalayas. You can tell he loves being in the mountains and sharing his knowledge. We always stayed at very nice tea houses/lodges that had great cooks. The food was FANTASTIC. We were vegetarians on the trail until the way down and we ate like kings. Not only was the food excellent, but there was also always plenty of it, you never went hungry. With MMA, my son and I each had our own porter and we even got them to have some fun with us on the pass and join us in cards. The three summits we did were Nangkar Tshang, Kala Patthar and Gokyo Ri. The two extra summits and going over Chola pass really added to the fun and adventure and it was not much of an additional cost. I am SO HAPPY that we booked the trek through Mountain Monarch. We met some great people and had a trip of a lifetime. If I go back, I’m definitely using them again because been with the best there’s no reason to look elsewhere. I know you can only give five stars but they deserve more. I’ve never seen any person or any company do as much as they do for us.

  • Z
    Zoe Bazley 5.0AustraliaPublished February 02, 2020logo

    Two Thumbs Way Up!!!

    A huge thanks to Pradip and the Mountain Monarch Team for getting us to the top of Island Peak. Great team, fantastic service, thoroughly enjoyed the entire trip!

  • Sharon Mikel
    Sharon Mikel 5.0United StatesPublished January 26, 2020logo

    LOOK NO FURTHER – BEST VALUE FOR YOUR DOLLAR!

    Our group of 11, aged 55 – 74, hired Mountain Monarch Company to guide us to the Base Camp of Mount Everest and summit Kala’ Patthar, on their standard EBC trek in Oct / Nov 2019. It was evident from the beginning we made the best choice. Communication pre-trip with Pradip was easy and no question was a problem for them. Everything stated in the Itinerary happened: meeting us at the airport, taking us on a tour of Kathmandu, organizing flights to and from Lukla, porters, accommodations, etc. The most noteworthy thing I have to mention is their concern for our safety and satisfaction, on every level. Our guides, CP, Santos, and Sanu became family during our trek. One of our members “left it all out on the mountains”, and needed to be evacuated. Mountain Monarchs organized the helicopter, picked us up at the airport, took us to the international hospital, where we received the best care, and stayed with us until we could leave. Thank you, Ram, for your great caretaking of all of us on the world heritage sites in Kathmandu. It was seamless and not a problem for the Mountain Monarch team. Mountain Monarchs has the best price for this trek and I would highly recommend using them for your “trip of a lifetime”. Do it sooner, rather than later!!

  • J
    James Davidson 5.0United StatesPublished December 05, 2019logo

    Everest Base Camp Helicopter Trek Everything We Had Hoped For!

    My son and I just returned from the Everest Base Camp Heli Trek, and we have nothing but glowing praise for Mountain Monarch and the team that led and supported us. Before the trek, Pradip quickly and responded to our questions and gave solid advice. For example, when I informed him of the flight that we were planning, he told me that the Kathmandu airport was going to be closed at our scheduled arrival time. A Google search confirmed the closure. I don’t understand how a major airline could have a flight scheduled during a planned airport closure, but I’m very glad that Pradip caught it. He advised us well on other items as well.

    The hotel in Kathmandu before and after the trek was very western and served a wide variety of western and other dishes. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Every aspect of the trek itself was exactly as advertised. Our main guide, Dawa, and his assistant, Bhutan (maybe misspelled) were extremely attentive to our needs. They monitored us closely for any signs of altitude sickness, ensured that we carried enough filtered water and that we were drinking it, helped us to choose safe menu items at meals, and explained very clearly what to expect regarding the next day’s trek, a bonus was listening to them talk about their own lives in Nepal. I have to laud the porters as well. While we carried just light packs containing what we needed for the day, they carried our large duffel bags, which were always awaiting us in our rooms at the end-of-day tea house. Whenever we saw the porters they were pleasantly smiling and encourages us.

    Frankly, I had been a little nervous about the helicopter, knowing what complex pieces of machinery they are, but the helicopter that picked us up looked new, was clean, appeared to be well maintained, and was professionally piloted. It was a very pleasant flight that gave us very nice views of the mountains and countryside.

    Hats off to Mountain Monarch! If I am fortunate enough to return to Nepal, I won’t even bother researching other companies.

  • D
    David Jimenez 5.0AustraliaPublished November 26, 2019logo

    Ama Ddablam 2018

    Climb Ama Dablam with mountain monarch and a team of amazing people around the world.
    The expedition was very well organized with the confidence of strong and knowledgeable professionals. Very well money spent that I will never regret. 100 percent recommend mountain monarch. When I first booked with mountain monarch I had my doubts, but after the experience, I will probably do another expedition with them.

  • Christopher Mills
    Christopher Mills 5.0United KingdomPublished November 17, 2019logo

    Island Peak with EBC

    Where to start! Before the trip, I did a lot of research on which company to go with. Lots appeared to have mixed reviews or something about the itinerary which wasn’t quite what I wanted. I came across Mountain Monarch and they ticked every box. Speaking to their owner, Pradip, he was very helpful (and quick) at answering any questions/requests that I had. The reviews are pretty much ALL amazing, so I was a little suspicious! But everywhere you read reviews about them, they are faultless. So I booked on with them. Everything they promised, was delivered with exceptional service. I was picked up at the airport (I had been panicking a little as it took so long to get through the airport customs, but they were patiently waiting outside), then Pradip met me when I arrived at the hotel. The sightseeing was fantastic, led by Ram, the most cheerful and knowledgeable guy I met on the trip! It was a great chance to bond with the group I would be spending the next few days/weeks with (some had differing itineraries). We met our group trekking guide Netra who talked us through the trip. Then the following morning we had an early start to get to Ramenchap. Unfortunately, our Lukla flight was delayed due to weather, but Mountain Monarch arranged a hotel for the night and did all they could. We flew out early the following morning so it was no issue in the long run. Once at Lukla, I met another trekking guide who would stay with me all the way. Ram is an absolute legend! By the end, I would absolutely class him as a good friend. Both Netra and Ram worked so hard to make sure everything went smoothly for us. They always pre-booked our beds for the night, gave us great advice to stay healthy (which I did the whole trip), and were very adaptive to the pace of the whole group. The entire trip was such a great experience, and I can hand on heart say that Mountain Monarch played a big part in that. I will 100% be returning to Nepal, and I will not hesitate to use these guys again. Thank you so much for your hard work, it really makes the difference between a company that just wants your money or a company that wants you to have the best time possible.