Showing 238 reviews
  • R
    Rachel 5.0CanadaDecember 05, 2022logo

    Amazing Adventure

    My partner and I completed the EBC trek with Mountain Monarch in October/November 2022 and had an amazing time!! The trek itself was breathtaking and an amazing challenge. It was really great to have the whole thing planned for us so all we had to worry about was the next step in front of us. Everything from picking us up at the airport to flying to Lukla and back, it was all so easy and smooth. MM somehow got us on a flight straight from Lukla to Kathmandu which we would not have been able to do if we were on our own. Pradip even helped us get bus tickets to Pokhara for after our trek! Price is a bit higher than other companies but we thought it was worth it. We especially loved that they are a 100% Nepali company, so all money goes to support their economy, their one porter for each trekker policy, and that we got boiled water instead of plastic water bottles to save plastic. We had a great group of people from around the world to hike with. Our guides (Santosh, Roshan, and Fingo) were super knowledgeable, patient, and helpful! We learned so much from them about Nepal, the Everest region, the wildlife, and Buddhism. One thing was on our way back down, the plan changed slightly which resulted in walking for over 9 hours one day, walking into the dark even, and it was hard to fully understand the plan due to language barriers. It just would have been nice to have it communicated to us better. But other than that we loved the route, loved that it went off the beaten path a bit so we had a few much quieter days to really take in the area and the culture (the areas where there are no other paths were often quite busy I will say). Highlights were visiting EBC (obviously), Kalapathar summit (harder than anticipated but so worth it!), visiting the quiet village of Phortse where we saw the rare musk deer, and all the dal bat! Would definitely recommend booking with Mountain Monarch!

  • G
    Glenn Fine 5.0United StatesNovember 20, 2022logo

    Everest region photography trek

    This was my first visit to Nepal and my trip could not have gone more smoothly. Pradip and all the folks at Mountain Monarchs were easy to work with and handled everything from my arrival in Kathmandu until my departure 22 days later.While hiking in the Khumbu region, Mountain Monarchs’ guides and porters were more than helpful and always seemed happy to be sharing the trek with us. We took many side hikes, some steep and at the end of the day, and we were always encouraged to spend as much time as we liked hiking and taking photographs. Being a photography trek, we spent multiple days in some of the most picturesque areas, like Gokyo and Ama Dablam. If you’re thinking of trekking in Nepal, I highly recommend Mountain Monarchs.

  • A
    Abhishek 5.0IndiaNovember 14, 2022logo

    Island Peak Climb

    I’m so glad I had Mountain Monarch as my first expedition team and Chheten as my guide. The whole team was like a happy family and our lead guide Chheten planned the summit day like a boss. We were at the crampon point right when the sun came out which really helped us a lot with the body getting warmer and the ice wall got a lot easier once we got to see the summit (in my opinion). Mr.Pradip was great with the itinerary and Chheten and Mingma made sure everything else was taken care of.I know for sure I’m meeting all of you again very soon.

  • S
    Steve Pikula 5.0CanadaNovember 13, 2022logo

    Simply the best on many levels!

    The company you choose makes a HUGE difference and I’m so glad I chose Mountain Monarch for so many reasons.1) One to One porter to client ratio: Many people dont realize that numerous guiding companies treat their porters inhumanely by loading them up with unreasonable loads often over 50kg. We have a social responsibility as clients and should not allow companies to allow horrible treatment of these wonderful people for the sake of a few dollars. Mountain Monarch takes this seriously and treats their staff as well as their clients and it was VERY noticeable on my trip! Kudos to them!2) Communication Transparency: From the first inquiry to the after trip debriefing, Pradip (the owner of the company) always responded quickly and clearly. He truly cares about his clients and really wants to make the experience a positive and memorable one. 3) Local: The last time I was in Nepal I used a Western company and quickly learned that ALL the Westerners sub contract the locals to do the work for them anyway. This time, after a lot of research, I chose the best local Nepalese company I could find so I could put more money into the local economy rather than into a Westerners pockets who will grind down the wages local Nepali’s earn. Nepal is a poor country and I believe every dollar matters. So glad I did this!!4) Quality guides: I can say without a doubt, that our guides were amongst the best anywhere on the trail or on the mountain. The day before my climb a large group returned from their summit attempt and I heard them angrily announce to one of their friends at base camp that they were lucky to be alive. There was only one set of fixed ropes on the mountain and a big traffic jam created some very dangerous situations on the head wall. My guide Nigma and I discussed the situation and my concerns after hearing about the debacle and he quickly told me not to worry because he was bringing more than 80 metres of rope with him and would fix anchors along the way so we could bypass areas that were potentially dangerous. On summit day that plan made all the difference in the world and allowed me to sail safely past others that were jammed up on the lines. I was NEVER concerned for a moment and so thankful I chose the right company. Also, our guides always read their clients well, making sure we are at the right pace to achieve our objectives. That really helped me slow down when I needed to and never pushed me beyond my abilities not to mention supporting me by taking my trekking poles through tricky sections. He was always there for me when I needed him unlike other guides I saw. My wife’s guide Roshan was also excellent and super supportive. These guys were the best by far and so grateful to have them there to make our experience better.5) Food & Cook: At base camp I was fed very well with quality food in a dedicated dining tent that was for me alone. I’m a fussy eater and it was not a problem for the cook. I had hot drinks of every variety available to me and could eat as much as I wanted. Great service with a caring and supportive smile every time!A couple tips for your trip: 1) Make sure you spend a night at Tengboche. It is a must stay location.2) Bypass Pangboche if you can. They have a big problem with their out of control dog population. They bark, yelp and howl all night making it impossible to sleep.I highly recommend Mountain Monarch and cant say enough about them. You are in good hands with these guys!

  • J
    Jacob Haahr Ipsen 5.0DenmarkNovember 10, 2022logo

    Perfect

    Thanks to the Mountain Monarch staff for a perfect trip to the summit of Mera. I can highly recommend MM and my next trip to Himalaya will surely be with Pradip and the team. Every detail was meticulously planned and worked out perfectly. Climbing boots, down jackets and sleeping bags all of good quality was provided as part of the package. This made it possible for us to go for this adventure with no hassle and without expense for costly equipment. I appreciate the policy of one porter to one trekker which provide decent working conditions for the porters and have no extra cost for us compared to other companies. (Normally companies only have one porter for every two trekkers)Special thanks to Dawa our Sherpa guide who not only was an excellent guide providing us with all needed mountaineering guidance but also shared his vast knowledge about local culture, history and vegetation.

  • J
    John Waldman 5.0United StatesOctober 28, 2022logo

    Lower and Upper Dolpo trek and Nar Phu /circuit

    I completed my seventh trip to Nepal, all with the experts at Mountain Monarch Adventures, this summer (2022). The Dolpo portion of the trek required tents and a cooking staff. Upper Dolpo does not yet have the infrastructure to support staying in lodges past Phoksundo Lake. Despite the difficult logistics and unorthodox itinerary MMA provided a near flawless experience with competent staff who always had my best interests first and foremost. They were responsive to my needs, flexible when necessary, but always positive and supportive. MMA is simply the best. If you are looking for a basic trek or a complex adventure, they will meet your every expectation. Five stars in not high enough for their rating.

  • S
    Sophie Allen 5.0United KingdomSeptember 23, 2022logo

    Great experience!

    Overall a great experience climbing to Annapurna Base Camp. Our Sherpa, Yam was brilliant and went over and above to look after us when we suffered from altitude sickness. Trek itself had truly amazing views too!

  • Sandra Stone
    Sandra Stone 5.0United StatesJuly 22, 2022logo

    Climbed Mera at the age of 70 with Mountain Monarch

    In April 2022 this year, I joined a group with Mountain Monarch going to Mera Peak with other 4 fellow independent trekkers. The owner Pradip had assembled an excellent crew of guides and porters for our adventure journey above 6000 meters. Everyone went out of their way to assure the safety of each participant. Everything was well planned from Kathmandu to Kathmandu, with nothing to worry about. All equipment down jackets, sleeping bags, high altitude boots, and crampons were of great quality and included in the price, really a hassle free adventure. Our guide Nima and assistant Pasan were proficient in their ability to guide us up to the top and safely back down. I was provided excellent support in helping me make it to the summit at the age of 70 years. At times having my own personal guide assisting me to complete the trek and climb. I would definitely recommend MM to anyone planning a trip to Nepal I know my next trek to Nepal will be with them.

  • O
    Oliver Needham 5.0United KingdomJune 30, 2022logo

    Three Pass Trek - an amazing experience with Mountain Monarch

    I trekked the Three Pass route + Everest Base camp with Mountain Monarch in May 2022. The trip was one of the most rewarding and inspiring experiences of my life and couldn't have been better organised and ran by the team at Mountain Monarch. Despite some challenges along the way (one of our group suffered from altitude sickness) the trip was a safe, well-planned and deeply rewarding experience. Our Sherpa (MingMa) was amazing - knowledgable, inspiring and always on hand with anything we might need. His experience, stories and openness to share was one of the highlights of the trip - we felt like family for the 21 days we trekked together. The Three Pass route is awe-inspiring - amazing varied scenery throughout, some challenging but achievable climbs and more impressive views and mountaneous landscapes than I could have imagined. Having a local share their knowledge and wisdom of the area was a true highlight and made the trip what it was. From start to finish, Mountain Monarch arranged a seemless, safe, inspiring trip and I can't wait to be back to take on the next challenge.

  • A
    Ann Strozewski 5.0United StatesJune 12, 2022TripAdvisor

    wonderful EBC trek with Heli ride out

    I traveled in a group of 7 total, with ages ranging from 38 to 56. We all completed the trek to Everest Base Camp and return hike to Pheriche where we took a helicopter back to Kathmandu. The entire trip was stress-free, thanks to our excellent guides and porters. All our accommodations and meals on the trek were included as well as arrangements to visit cultural sites along the way such as a Buddhist monastery in Tengboche and the Sherpa Culture Museum near Namche Bazaar. I would 100% recommend Mountain Monarchs for this trek and they will be the first place I look to if we decide to return to do another trek in this region.