Hinduism beliefs and Practices

  • Mar 22, 2020
  • Mountain Monarch

Table of Contents


Hinduism, the religion is the oldest in the world with a maximum numbers of followers in Nepal. The history of Hinduism dates goes back to more than 5000 years. The words Hindu and Hinduism are now frequently used. The name came from the people settled on the river banks of Sindhu. Some scholars believe that the term Hinduism is originated in the third millennium before Christ when the immigrants of the pre-Aryan, the Aryans civilization settled in the Indus Valley and as a result of the conquest of the pre-Aryans, the Aryans from Persia and Anatolia settled in the Indus Valley and Gangetic Plains of the sub-continent in the second millenniums.

Hindus believes in:

Vedas: The Vedas are the ancient books of wisdom and knowledge. There are four Vedas: Rigveda,Samaveda,Yadurveda and Atharvaveda.

God and Goddess: heavenly being or celestial being male and female also called devas and devis inhabits heavens above human realm, the human realm is bound to samsara and subject to birth and death.

Ritual: the practicing of ritual ceremonies and rites in Hinduism is very common from birth to death, believing spiritual connection with their ancestors brings harmony and long life in the family.

Reincarnation: Hindus believes in rebirth or reincarnation, the return of the soul to the earth in a new bodily form. It is solely depends on the ones karma or action in his/her previous life to be born in higher or lower human realm in the present world.

Caste system: Caste system plays a vital roles in Hinduism, Bramin being the sacred caste and the top most in hierarchy. Bramin as Priests, Kshatriyas as Warriors,Vaishyas asTraders, Sudras as Lower castes and untouchables.

Four Ashrams: Hindus beliefs in four Ashrams or the four stages of life. The first is Brahmacharya( period of celibacy or student life}. The second is Garhastya (period of married life). The third is Vanprastha (period of retirement and living a sequestered life) and the fourth is Sannyasa (period of renunciation).

Philosophical belief: Such as the principle of identity of the individual with Brahma (the creator), the only reality in the context of the unreality of life and the word which is called illusion or Maya

Guru: Guru means the spiritual teacher and the religious guide with a great respect in the society. Hindus consider guru as a dignified one, next in etiquette only for divinity.

Hospitality for guest: “ Athiti Deva Bhava “ means Guest is God, It is considered a great virtue by the Hindus to serve the Guest,

OM: a spiritual symbolic and powerful holy Mantra in Hindu religion. It refers to Atman (the soul) and Brahman (the ultimate reality).