Showing 255 reviews
  • D
    Dan Walters 5.0AustraliaOctober 16, 2014logo

    Great memories of this awesome trip

    “My partner and I spent 3 weeks trekking in the Khumbu region of Nepal, guided by Mountain Monarch Adventures. From start to finish, Pradip and the team at MMA exceeded our expectations throughout the trip, and every aspect was organized and handled with the utmost professionalism, efficiency, and expertise. Our experienced lead guide Dipen Rai was exceptional, ensuring that we arrived at our target, acclimatized, happy, safe, and well. Likewise, our assistant guide Gyan and porters worked tirelessly throughout.
    My partner and I will have nothing but great memories of this fantastic trip. We highly recommend the services of Mountain Monarch Adventures to anyone considering a guided trek in Nepal” Pradip, Dipen, and the MMA team, thanks for everything!! Dan & Karen Oct 2014.

  • A
    Andy Malone 5.0United KingdomOctober 15, 2014logo

    Smooth booking and excellent communication

    I recently returned from the Annapurna Base Camp/Sanctuary trek with Mountain Monarch. I cannot recommend the company enough. Smooth booking and excellent communication before the trip; reliable meet & greet, transfers, and hotels at either end of the trek. The trek was led by friendly, competent guides and assisted by good porters—excellent focus on safety, particularly food hygiene and first aid. I will use MM again. My previous experience trekking in Nepal was with a much larger international company based in the UK; MM surpassed this experience quite comfortably.

  • L
    Lloyd Smith 5.0United KingdomOctober 15, 2014logo

    Super friendly, never stopped smiling and were always helpful

    Trek to Mera peak with a 100% summit rate for our team.
From the first email to the final goodbye at the airport, I have nothing but good things to say about Mountain Monarch.
They answered all my email queries fast and professionally. They gave me great peace of mind before even meeting with them.
The guides, cooks, and porters were first class. They were Super friendly, never stopped smiling, and were always helpful. They pushed the team just enough to help us achieve our summit goal. They even went to the trouble of making me a birthday cake at 5300 meters!!
The equipment provided by MMA, down jackets, tents, sleeping bags, liners, etc., were tip-top.
 So if you are looking for a great company to travel with, stop looking and start booking with MMA.

  • C
    Cara Kendall 5.0United StatesOctober 15, 2014logo

    The trip was stellar from start to finish

    I recently finished the Everest Base Camp trek & Island Peak climb with Mountain Monarch, and I wanted to add to the many positive reviews I found on the site before choosing to book with them. The trip was stellar from start to finish, and I couldn't be happier.

Specific points:

I chose Mountain Monarch because they provided a lot of gear that other companies didn't. I had no complaints about the quality & fit of the equipment provided, and not having to acquire and carry a lot of additional gear (climbing boots, sleeping bag, down jacket, gaiters, etc.) saved me a lot of money and trouble.

The itinerary was carefully planned and included plenty of time for sightseeing, rest, and acclimatization.

I always felt safe & carefully looked after by the guides. They closely watched everyone to see how we were handling the altitude. Also, concerning safety on Island Peak, when all of the other climbers were using an existing fixed rope, our climbing guide gave him a new rope for us to arrive so that we knew we could trust it.

Finally, I can't say enough about how great the guides were. We started with three trek groups for the first part of our trip (before we headed in different directions), so our group of nine benefited from three trek leaders and three assistant guides. They added so much to my trek by telling me about the mountains and villages around. Since I was trekking alone, they made sure I got photos of myself in them. On top of all that, they were a ton of fun and helped all the trekkers have fun together.

I'm happy to answer any questions if anyone wants to send me a message.

  • A
    Aarone Mcleese 5.0United KingdomOctober 14, 2014logo

    Highly recommend trekking with Mountain Monarch Adventures

    Our lead guide Dawa, his 3 assistants, Santa, Palzer, and BJ, and our porters, Sum, Tej, Dill, and Jeet, were exceptional in their care of our group. Dawa is incredibly experienced, and his priority is to look after the trekkers in his group. Without their expert knowledge, equipment, and the fun of the group, I would not have learned nearly as much about their beautiful country and people as I did. 
As the oldest and slowest member of the group, Dawa stayed with me and encouraged me. He was very professional, and the entire team's service was unparalleled in my travel experience in any country. I highly recommend trekking with Mountain Monarch Adventures. You can't gain the level of professionalism from a book or a guide that you hire in Durbar Square!
 The day trip to Kathmandu was exciting too!
Trekking in Nepal was a fantastic experience that built my self-confidence and resilience. I was surprised that I wasn't too old. Dawa told me he had led groups with people as aged as 75 years! All credit to Mountain Monarch Adventures for ensuring the group's safety and having the equipment, experience, and energy to make my Annapurna adventure an actual mountaintop experience.

  • L
    Lucy Farran 5.0AustraliaOctober 11, 2014logo

    Great service

    I would highly recommend MM to anyone traveling to Nepal. A local company is passionate about providing excellent service and ensuring that you have a safe, fun, and unforgettable experience. Our tour guide was professional and also lots of fun! Our porters and assistant guide were also great. They went above and beyond helping us with everything—a very knowledgeable and well-trained team. 

Our guide was very conscious of safety and good hygiene also. We were in safe hands with MM! 

A week after finishing up with MM, my friend was Badly sick in the hospital. MM came to visit us and was really concerned and supportive! 

A beautiful company that genuinely cares. Also, they are local, and I think it is always best to support local 

Go with MM. You will not regret it. Enjoy!

  • B
    Barry Nelson 5.0United KingdomOctober 07, 2014logo

    A great trek for my first trip to the Himalayas

    An excellent trek for my first trip to the Himalayas. As the website says, a certain degree of fitness is definitely required. Pradip, the owner, was very helpful. All emails during initial inquiries & booking were answered promptly & clearly. From arrival to departure, everything was well organized & Pradip was v helpful & supportive. On the trek itself (lasting five days), the guide, Arjun, was friendly & good company. He always made sure the pace was right for me & was well-trained in all health & safety & first aid matters, even down to details like providing hand-sanitizing liquid at mealtimes. Santos, the porter, was always cheerful, despite the load he was carrying! The scenery was superb & this shorter trek is highly recommended as an introduction to trekking in Nepal & for the older or younger hike

  • M
    Michale Ace 5.0AustraliaSeptember 11, 2014logo

    Eliminating the huge “middle man” profits

    Mountain Monarch Trekking & Climbing company operating out of Kathmandu, is definitely the leading company offering SAFE & RESPONSIBLE trekking throughout the Himalayas. This year alone, I have been associated with this company twice. Once in July for the difficult trek into the Kingdom of Mustang for the unique TIJI festival, which is limited in the numbers of foreigners allowed into this particular Tibetan area & then recently in Sept/Oct for the adventure of a lifetime trek up to Base Camp of Everest. This can be a difficult & arduous trek up to 5500m, but Mountain Monarch can encourage & ensure ALL of their clients can make this trek.
One of the few companies that carry a Gamal Bag for quick oxygen resuscitation & all Sherpas is highly trained in High Altitude Recognition & Medicine. Much of the big-ticket equipment items are catered for with this company at NO extra cost, Puff Jackets, Sleeping Bag & Polartec Inner liner, Trekking Poles, Waterproof Trek bag for the porters to carry with all your gear & great training T Shirt (the last two you get to keep). Unbelievable low price trekking cost, eliminating the vast “middle man” profits.

  • D
    Dorren Hedges 5.0New ZealandJuly 05, 2014logo

    Well organised Mustang trip

    Our trip to Mustang was well organized, and we were looked after from when we arrived until we left. Had a good variety of transport, e.g., horse, jeep, and hiking. The accommodation and food were excellent, and the scenery was amazing. Well worth going to the Tiji Festival. We were there from the start to the end.

  • M
    Matt Carroll 5.0AustraliaMay 28, 2014logo

    Adventure holiday in Nepal

    Arriving recently completed (March/April 2014) with a group of friends at the Mt Everest Base Camp via the Gokyo Lakes trek, I would like to recommend Mountain Monarch Adventures as the trekking company of choice to anybody considering an adventure holiday in Nepal. During the organizing stage, Pradip (Managing Director) never failed to reply quickly and comprehensively via email to our many queries and concerns about what lay ahead of us. Pradip went above and beyond to ensure all our arrangements (airport pick-up, hotels, etc.) were in place on our arrival in Kathmandu. On the track, our head guide, Sunil, ably assisted by assistants DJ Ram & Mingma, ensured that our experience was nothing less than exceptional! Even when we had a few injury/sickness concerns, we were always well looked after, with Sunil handling any situation with professionalism, compassion, and good humor. Accommodation, meals, drinking water, etc., were first class (considering where we were trekking!), with humorous anecdotes & informative chats about Nepal also in plentiful supply. After a challenging (but rewarding) day’s walk, many an enjoyable evening was spent sitting around the dining room playing sh*#head. If you are fortunate enough to have Sunil as your guide, make sure he teaches you this card game from the outset! A word about the trek itself. The scenery was absolutely magnificent, with neither words nor photos doing it justice (as good as the pictures are). Something that I feel must be experienced ‘in the flesh to be fully appreciated. It really was the trip of a lifetime and one that was definitely worth all the hard work involved. Again, MMA is the real deal, and I would recommend them 100% to anyone considering Nepal as a holiday destination. To Pradip, Sunil, and the team, A HUGE thank you!!