Showing 255 reviews
  • William E Dingman
    William E Dingman 5.0United StatesMay 23, 2022logo

    Everest Base camp, Circuit Trek

    Look no further for a trekking company to take you to Everest Base Camp or anywhere in the region! Mountain Monarch Adventure Co. is a trekker porter company, meaning their porters carry one duffel bag, not two. This company cares about its employees well being. I emailed the company numerous times months before my trek with questions, and Pradip, the owner, would always promptly respond. He met us when we arrived at our hotel in Kathmandu even though it was late after 830pm, later than expected. We were taken on a cultural tour the next day, which was very enlightening. Rom, our guide, was very friendly and informative. My trekking guide, Roshan, was always helpful, polite, and professional. This man encouraged me to eat after I got sick and lost my appetite for much of the trip. Every day he would tell me to eat more. He learned to use my Nikon camera and took photos of everything. He would give us information about the region as he was born and grew up in Lukla. On the way back down after EBC and the Gokyo lakes, when we had to go uphill, he carried my backpack, along with his, as I was becoming sicker from what I later found out to be from Covid. Also, he was waiting for me outside the Kathmandu airport for over 2 hours as my flight was delayed, and I had to get my visa inside and wait for my checked bag. After our trek and back in Kathmandu, He drove me to the Qatar airways building to reschedule my flight. He bought medicine, checked on me, and encouraged me when I was tired. I could go on and on. He became a friend, and we still communicate on Facebook. Look no further; this IS the ONLY trekking company to consider!"

  • paul cownley
    paul cownley 5.0United KingdomMarch 27, 2022logo

    WOW, WOW, WOW !! best ever !

    Mountain Monarch was recommended to me by a friend, and I am so glad we used them! Pradip was very helpful on the run-up, answering all our questions and ensuring it was all straightforward. The route we took was quiet, which is what we wanted. Although at the remoter tea houses we stayed in, we were often on our own, our guides CP and Yam made the trip extra special by giving us information as we went along and generally talking to us about what we were seeing, and then when we arrived at our overnight stop, they would do everything to ensure we were happy comfortable well-fed and watered. The experience was unbelievable, with great views that were well worth an early start. From when we arrived at Kathmandu airport and were greeted by CP until Pradip said goodbye as we left, we couldn't have felt more part of the Mountain Monarch family and can't recommend them and the team highly enough; we will be using them again!

  • M
    Michael Daley 5.0United StatesJune 20, 2021TripAdvisor

    Father and Son Adventure

    My son and I have wanted to do this trip for the last few years. We had it planned for 2020, but COVID canceled that. It was a close call on making it for 2021, but our dream came true. Pradip was able to transfer our 2020 $ to 2021. He is a professional in every way and one of the nicest people you’ll meet. We still had restrictions with COVID, but MMA put our safety first. We saw more than usual in Kathmandu and learned a lot, and I mean a lot. Since we passed the COVID test, we started our trek early. My son and I said we’d spend more time in the Himalayas than in Kathmandu, so Pradip and CP, our guide, suggested adding some extra days and adding two more summits and Chola Pass to the trek. CP is an excellent guide and one of the nicest people you’ll meet. He educated us on the people, food, culture, mountains, and way of life up until high. We all really got to know each other very well. CP even taught us how to play Nepalese rummy to pass the time in the tea houses, and we taught him double solitaire. He got to know our abilities and even gave us a challenge on the Trick Trail, which we enjoyed. He was always concerned with our COVID safety when we were in villages and provided masks for us. He never passed us; he always stressed to be patient and go slow (Bestari Bestari). He made us feel very confident and strong with his compliments and kindness. He became a very good friend on the trail as if we’d known him for a long time. CP is also very funny and entertaining, a very happy man that enjoys helping people understand his culture and the beauty of the Himalayas. You can tell he loves being in the mountains and sharing his knowledge. We always stayed at nice tea houses/lodges with great cooks. The food was FANTASTIC. We were vegetarians on the trail until the way down, and we ate like kings.

    Not only was the food excellent, but there was also always plenty of it; you never went hungry. With MMA, my son and I each had our porter, and we even got them to have some fun with us on the pass and join us in cards. We did the three summits: Nangkar Tshang, Kala Patthar, and Gokyo Ri. The two extra summits and going over Chola pass really added to the fun and adventure, and it was not much of an additional cost. I am SO HAPPY that we booked the trek through Mountain Monarch. We met some great people and had a trip of a lifetime. If I go back, I’m definitely using them again because being with the best; there’s no reason to look elsewhere. I know you can only give five stars, but they deserve more. I’ve never seen any person or company do as much as they do for us.

  • Z
    Zoe Bazley 5.0AustraliaFebruary 02, 2020logo

    Two Thumbs Way Up!!!

    A huge thanks to Pradip and the Mountain Monarch Team for getting us to the top of Island Peak. Great team, fantastic service, thoroughly enjoyed the entire trip!

  • Sharon Mikel
    Sharon Mikel 5.0United StatesJanuary 26, 2020logo

    LOOK NO FURTHER – BEST VALUE FOR YOUR DOLLAR!

    Our group of 11, aged 55 – 74, hired Mountain Monarch Company to guide us to the Base Camp of Mount Everest and summit Kala’ Patthar on their standard EBC trek in Oct / Nov 2019. It was evident from the beginning we had made the best choice. Communication pre-trip with Pradip was easy, and no question was a problem for them. Everything stated in the Itinerary happened: meeting us at the airport, taking us on a tour of Kathmandu, organizing flights to and from Lukla, porters, accommodations, etc. The most noteworthy thing I have to mention is their concern for our safety and satisfaction on every level. Our guides, CP, Santos, and Sanu, became family during our trek. Unfortunately, one of our members “left it all out on the mountains” and needed to be evacuated. Mountain Monarchs organized the helicopter, picked us up at the airport, took us to the international hospital, where we received the best care, and stayed with us until we could leave. Thank you, Ram, for your great caretaking of us on the world heritage sites in Kathmandu. It was seamless and not a problem for the Mountain Monarch team. Mountain Monarchs has the best price for this trek, and I would highly recommend using them for your “trip of a lifetime.” Do it sooner rather than later!!

  • J
    James Davidson 5.0United StatesDecember 05, 2019logo

    Everest Base Camp Helicopter Trek Everything We Had Hoped For!

    My son and I just returned from the Everest Base Camp Heli Trek, and we have nothing but glowing praise for Mountain Monarch and the team that led and supported us. Before the trek, Pradip quickly responded to our questions and gave solid advice. For example, when I informed him of the flight we were planning, he told me that the Kathmandu airport would be closed at our scheduled arrival time. A Google search confirmed the closure. I don’t understand how a major airline could schedule a flight during a planned airport closure, but I’m glad that Pradip caught it. He advised us well on other items as well.

    The hotel in Kathmandu before and after the trek was very western and served a wide variety of western and other dishes. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Every aspect of the trek itself was exactly as advertised. Our leading guide, Dawa, and his assistant, Bhutan (maybe misspelled), were highly attentive to our needs. They monitored us closely for any signs of altitude sickness, ensured that we carried enough filtered water and that we were drinking it, helped us to choose safe menu items at meals, and explained very clearly what to expect regarding the next day’s trek; a bonus was listening to them talk about their own lives in Nepal. I have to laud the porters as well. While we carried just light packs containing what we needed for the day, they took our large duffel bags, which were always awaiting us in our rooms at the end-of-day tea house. Whenever we saw the porters, they were pleasantly smiling and encouraged us.

    Frankly, I had been a little nervous about the helicopter, knowing what complex pieces of machinery they were. Still, the helicopter that picked us up looked new, was clean, appeared well-maintained, and was professionally piloted. Moreover, it was a pleasant flight that gave us excellent views of the mountains and countryside.

    Hats off to Mountain Monarch! If I am fortunate enough to return to Nepal, I won’t even bother researching other companies.

  • D
    David Jimenez 5.0AustraliaNovember 26, 2019logo

    Ama Ddablam 2018

    Climb Ama Dablam with a mountain monarch and a team of amazing people worldwide.
    The expedition was very well organized with the confidence of strong and knowledgeable professionals—very well money spent that I will never regret. Therefore, I 100 percent recommend mountain monarch. When I first booked with mountain monarch, I had my doubts, but after the experience, I will probably do another expedition with them.

  • Christopher Mills
    Christopher Mills 5.0United KingdomNovember 17, 2019logo

    Island Peak with EBC

    Where to start? Before the trip, I researched which company to go with a lot. Lots appeared to have mixed reviews or something about the itinerary, which wasn’t quite what I wanted. I came across Mountain Monarch, and they ticked every box. Speaking to their owner, Pradip, he was very helpful (and quick) at answering any questions/requests I had. The reviews are pretty much ALL amazing, so I was a little suspicious! But everywhere you read reviews about them, they are faultless. So I booked on with them. Everything they promised was delivered with exceptional service. I was picked up at the airport (I had been panicking a little as it took so long to get through the airport customs, but they were patiently waiting outside), then Pradip met me when I arrived at the hotel. The sightseeing was fantastic, led by Ram, the most cheerful and knowledgeable guy I met on the trip! It was a great chance to bond with the group with whom I would be spending the next few days/weeks (some had differing itineraries). We met our group trekking guide Netra who talked us through the trip. Then the following morning, we had an early start to get to Ramenchap. Unfortunately, our Lukla flight was delayed due to weather, but Mountain Monarch arranged a hotel for the night and did all it could. We flew out early the following morning, so it was no issue in the long run. Once at Lukla, I met another trekking guide who would stay with me.

    Ram is an absolute legend! In the end, I would absolutely classify him as a good friend. Both Netra and Ram worked hard to ensure everything went smoothly for us. They always pre-booked our beds for the night, gave us great advice to stay healthy (which I did the whole trip), and were very adaptive to the pace of the whole group. The entire trip was such a great experience, and I can, hand on heart, say that Mountain Monarch played a big part in that. I will 100% be returning to Nepal and will not hesitate to use these guys again. Thank you so much for your hard work; it really makes the difference between a company that wants your money and a company that wants you to have the best time possible.

  • K
    Kestin Lungdren 5.0AustraliaMarch 11, 2019logo

    Wonderful day hiking

    We had a wonderful day hiking from Nagarkot to Changu Narayan! We had hoped for lovely views, villages, and some forest. The guide was very knowledgeable and spoke good English. He was also fun to talk to. The car and driver were excellent, making us feel safe.

    Thank you very much for arranging this, especially on such a short notice

  • C
    Chin Ling Wong 5.0MalaysiaJanuary 06, 2019logo

    Memorable trip

    Four weeks trip with 23 days of trekking and climbing from Lukla to Mera (6419) and Island Peak (6189m) via Amphu Laptsa Pass (5845m). Amphu Laptsa Pass is graded D and the second hardest in the Himalayas region. It was a fantastic experience to land and took off at the world's most dangerous airport. The feeling is indescribable until you experience it. Twelve were in the group, plus five guides, 12 porters, and seven kitchen crew throughout the hike. We stayed in tents for 20 days and the last three days in the local tea houses. One of the highlights of our trip is no shower for 23 days, and the toilets are fundamental. The higher the altitude, the more basic the bathroom will be. We were amazed that we survived without any problems. The weather is freezing, and the daily temperature is below zero degrees Celsius. Waking up daily with snow/ice on the tent, sleeping bag, and beanie is no joke. Hail and snow are expected during our hiking period. Twenty-three days without connecting to the outside world is another good experience. No electricity was available, and I charged my watch and camera with a solar charger. Thank you, Mountain Monarch and the team, for this memorable trip.